Musée Baud, a unique and unusual place, was founded by the Baud brothers in l’Auberson. They repaired music boxes and automata and illustrated the Jura tradition of precision mechanics.
Initiated by the Baud brothers Frédy, Robert and Auguste, Musée Baud in l’Auberson was created in 1955. It contains a collection of some sixty ancient mechanical music works from 1750 to 1940: music boxes, automata and orchestrions.
These initially trained farmers worked together in their precision mechanics workshop where they repaired mechanical music boxes, which were no longer produced. These fans of music boxes were interested in any object that produced mechanical music, including the most diverse automata. Know-how and a musical ear were necessary to identify the notes that had disappeared from the mechanical rolls. Their talent for mechanics was recognised for miles around. They were able to reduce their agricultural activities progressively and installed their collection in the stables and the barn.
The hamlet l’Auberson, is located a few kilometres from Sainte-Croix, the centre of precision and art mechanics in the heart of the Jura.